Vatican Proclaims 7 Social Sins

Listening to Charlee Morgan on 104.9 this morning, she brought up a news story that peeked my curiosity. Earlier this week, the Vatican issued a release outlining seven new sins for the new century. The seven deadly sins have not been replaced, rather, these new sins are less 'personal' and more 'social' and speak to a way of life rather than specific incidents.

In simple language, care of AHN, the new sins are:

(1)genetic modification; (2) human experimentations, (3) polluting the environment; (4) social injustice; (5) causing poverty; (6) financial gluttony; and (7) taking drugs

It's interesting to note that removed from religious affiliation, most individuals are likely to fall in line with the guidelines (as they do with the deadly sins). I don't find this as groundbreaking as some folks, probably because I'm not particularly religious.

Does this mean that the church will be spending even more money on helping the poor and needy rather than building/renovating churches?

Photo from Flickr care of knobelsp.


Post a Comment 0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails